Ab mera number hai !


By T S Sudhir

Quietly in a small village of India, work has begun on providing every citizen of India with a 12-digit number, that will be his or her passport to just about everything in India.

Mera number bhi aayega !!

http://www.ndtv.com/news/videos/video_player.php?id=159372

(video of my story aired on NDTV24x7)

About t s sudhir & uma sudhir

Uma Sudhir and T S Sudhir are senior journalists, based in Hyderabad. Both work for NDTV. Uma is a Tamilian, who was educated in
This entry was posted in Business, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ab mera number hai !

  1. Serenity Stupidity says:

    Hi Tss,

    A few days ago , I had come across a piece of news, related to something about inauguration of this project by PM , this month, in AP. This was not as part of research on this project, but a quick collection of news-bits; for, I was sending smses, hoping to get registered with KBC. That of course did not happen; And, I suppressed my initial gladness and surprise, of AP being involved with its inauguration. Reason being, I was not still not prepared to overcome the skepticism about the project.

    Hence, its a surprise seeing you report about this project. And gladly, I have gone ahead and let the dream seed into my heart, about this project; something which i was not letting happen all these days.

    I hope, that over the future, this project permeates through, our System, stoically, consistently, and we can witness, benefits sprouting, for the multitudes of common people of India.

    Cops in U.S.A using laptops in their cars, to instantly pull out Info about the people they pull up, before even approaching the pulled up car, let alone letting the pulled up driver to step out, is a very common procedure. But Utopian stuff as this, is strictly prohibited to my innermost dreams and I shudder sharing the dream with anyone. But having you refer so serenely & seriously, to police being able to pull out Info about hit-and-run cases, and govt machinery being able to employ for it for the “right” kind of administration, is so wonderful. Amen ! Please allow me to join the prayers too.
    For a change, I too do not even want to allude my cynicism, about ambitious Govt projects.

    Biometrics, visuals of equipment used to record eyes, simple but neat looking computer records of people…Good chance to feel something positive and a bit reassuring, that this humongous rumbling democracy still can give examples of hope and functioning.

    It is not that I am feeling euphoric or “carried away”; Its just that, I wanted to express here whatever happiness I feel now about this project; For, our system will ensure that we will have to be silent and patient over a long period, about its progress,implementation and benefits.

Leave a Reply

