Wombs in danger


By Uma Sudhir

How uterus removal surgeries are a huge medical racket in Andhra Pradesh and making the big bucks are private clinics across the state. I travelled to Medak district for this report.

http://www.ndtv.com/news/videos/video_player.php?id=160458

(video of my story aired on NDTV24x7 on August 27, 2010)

About t s sudhir & uma sudhir

Uma Sudhir and T S Sudhir are senior journalists, based in Hyderabad. Both work for NDTV. Uma is a Tamilian, who was educated in
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wombs in danger

  1. Srikanth Kakumanu says:

    I have seen your news on Wombs in Danger..Good Work.
    You are doing great work for the humanity..
    May God Bless You

    Srikanth

  2. wise donkey says:

    good work. but I wish it had got more attention and more action.

  3. Serenity Stupidity says:

    Dear Uma,

    First, I feel so glad, with the wishes extended by Srikanth Kakumanu above. U need all the blessings and wishes.

    For, from Nalgonda to Kalsapur to Osmania Hospital to Narayanpur to Srikakulam and back to Medak for the farmers, you have been trying to your bit, to show us “Bharat”. No surprise, that you pondered much about Bhutan’s GNH .

    Each time, I felt more of a human being, an Indian.

    Each time I felt warmed by the Diya or candle you have tried to lit.

    Similarly, this time I realized, by checking on Wikipedia, that Hysterectomy is normally recommended for only a few specific circumstances. How blissfully unaware, are most of us !

    Well, for a majority of we the people, its about “Receive what you get”. Simply because, for a powerful majority of politicians and Industrialists, it is “Take whatever you can”.

    All through my childhood, I used to assume, that India is developing consistently, and it is just a matter of time, for a very young democracy. From blissful ignorance to growing hopeless and sad in various ways, it has been some journey. As democracy continues to rumble on, I am only left sad about its dwindling health. Women paying such heavy price for being women and then mothers, I never imagined could happen.

    It is easy to feel that I think everything being gloom and doom.

    But I am not too far from the incredible tenacity and adaptiveness that the multitudes comprising the residents of bharat, have been displaying, completely unaware that they are doing so. So even for me, “Ummed peh duniya kayam hain”, is part of DNA.

    So, may be, we the people have our own personal/social levels of GNH, after all.

    Journeying along with you and Tss, has helped me understand the details of bharat and India, and so I have felt relief so many times. All these years, I had one humongous cynicism to deal with. Now, I can overcome it many times. Or, at least know more in detail about the rot, present in various in various states of rotting.

    Where next ?

Leave a Reply

